Jason Isbell and his band The 400 Unit will release a covers album titled ‘Georgia Blue,’ a 13-track album that includes covers of Georgia natives R.E.M., Cat Power, Otis Redding, The Allman Brothers Band, Vic Chesnutt, James Brown, Gladys Knight & The Pips, The Black Crowes, Indio Girls, and more. Isbell and the 400 Unit are also joined on Georgia Blue by a number of guest collaborators, including Isbell’s wife Amanda Shires, Brandi Carlile, Julien Baker, Béla Fleck, Brittney Spencer, and Adia Victoria.  In anticipation of Georgia Blue’s release, Isbell and the 400 Unit have shared their version of R.E.M.’s “Driver 8” featuring John Paul White.  Take a listen here.

Isbell says in a statement:  “Georgia Blue is a labor of love. On election day 2020, when I saw that there was a good chance the state of Georgia might go blue, I came up with an idea: to record an album of Georgia-related songs as a thank you to the state and donate the money to a Georgia-based non-profit organization.”  Proceeds from the album will specifically benefit three non-profit organizations: Black Voters Matter, Fair Fight, and Georgia STAND-UP.

To pre-order Georgia Blue head here.  Isbell and the 400 Unit are also currently out on tour in support of their latest album, Reunions; tickets are available for purchase at the link here.

Editorial credit: Debby Wong / Shutterstock.com